Just Not Feeling It

Posted: August 16, 2014 by Marner in Blog Administration

You may have noticed that I haven’t been posting much lately, and there’s a reason: I’m just not feeling it anymore.

I’m having a hard time getting motivated to write about anything when I know it’ll just be the same half-dozen people reading it. The vast majority of the people out there just don’t care. They believe they have no power to change anything, so why bother getting interested in it? I’m not a prolific writer and I have a hard time writing for self-enjoyment.

The other reason I’ve been dropping off is that every thread becomes an opportunity to point and laugh at B4V. I really don’t understand the obsession with them. They are not what anyone would consider thought leaders for the conservative movement and they have no influence outside their own little bubble. Krauthammer, Carlson, Hannity, etc. are worthy of discussion, but Noonan, Cluster, and tired? Who the fuck cares outside of this small group and their small group.

So, that being said, I don’t know when or if I’m going to be posting again. I have more important things to do right now. Football season is starting and I’m going to pretty busy at work for the next 6 months or so. If I find my motivation, I may start writing again at some point in the future.

Later.

Comments
  1. rustybrown2012 says:

    I really don’t understand the obsession with them.

    I just think they’re funny! That said, I’ll miss your posts but I understand your motivation for leaving. This is a pretty worthless exercise; I see no practical utility in making fun of those morons aside from the amusement factor, which is enough for me. I guess I just don’t take it very seriously.

    Debate, on the other hand, can be useful. It can inform, forces you to do research, exposes you to different points of view, clarifies your thoughts, etc. I don’t understand why so many people, here and certainly more at bfv, are so thin-skinned about about engaging in a bit of disagreement. Again, why does anybody take it that seriously? The most boring thing in the world is everybody just agreeing with each other all the time.

  2. meursault1942 says:

    On the topic of football, this might just be the year that I stop watching because of how abhorrent an organization the NFL is. I might watch if Ray Rice gets horribly maimed, though. Fuck that guy.

    On the topic of politics, I re-read David SImon’s address on the Two Americas and how capitalism’s victory is sowing its demise, and it is still front-to-back-brilliant. I cannot emphasize strongly enough that you should read the whole thing, but here are three of the most poignant paragraphs to get you going:

    Societies are exactly what they sound like. If everybody is invested and if everyone just believes that they have “some”, it doesn’t mean that everybody’s going to get the same amount. It doesn’t mean there aren’t going to be people who are the venture capitalists who stand to make the most. It’s not each according to their needs or anything that is purely Marxist, but it is that everybody feels as if, if the society succeeds, I succeed, I don’t get left behind. And there isn’t a society in the west now, right now, that is able to sustain that for all of its population…. We have become something other than what we claim for the American dream and all because of our inability to basically share.

    Mistaking capitalism for a blueprint as to how to build a society strikes me as a really dangerous idea in a bad way. Capitalism is a remarkable engine again for producing wealth. It’s a great tool to have in your toolbox if you’re trying to build a society and have that society advance. You wouldn’t want to go forward at this point without it. But it’s not a blueprint for how to build the just society. There are other metrics besides that quarterly profit report.

    The idea that the market will solve such things as environmental concerns, as our racial divides, as our class distinctions, our problems with educating and incorporating one generation of workers into the economy after the other when that economy is changing; the idea that the market is going to heed all of the human concerns and still maximize profit is juvenile. It’s a juvenile notion and it’s still being argued in my country passionately, and we’re going down the tubes. And it terrifies me because I’m astonished at how comfortable we are in absolving ourselves of what is basically a moral choice. Are we all in this together or are we all not?

Leave a Reply

