You know those emails your conservative uncle sends to you and everyone else he knows? The ones that sound like they might be true, but aren’t? Yeah, we all get them. Funny, I never get those emails from my liberal friends and relatives, even the ones I know well who worked on past presidential campaigns. But I digress…

It’s always delightful to see actual Republican presidential candidates demonstrate that they are no wiser–nor thoughtful, nor capable of discerning fact from fiction–than your crazy uncle, uttering bogus quotes about the Founding Fathers that they probably read in an email (and therefore assumed that it must be true). Steven Benen noted a few examples in this post.

Sen. Rand Paul (R-Ky.) routinely incorporates quotes from the Founding Fathers into his campaign speeches, and BuzzFeed highlighted a good example of this the other day.

Speaking in Greenville, South Carolina last week, Rand Paul said, “Patrick Henry said this, Patrick Henry said the Constitution is about ‘restraining the government not the people.’”

Paul was summarizing this quote, often attributed to Henry: “The Constitution is not an instrument for the government to restrain the people, it is an instrument for the people to restrain the government – lest it come to dominate our lives and interests.”

The problem, of course, is that both versions of the quote are fake. There’s no record of Patrick Henry ever having said or written such a thing. Someone made it up, it made the rounds, and Rand Paul appears to have repeated it.

This comes on the heels of Wisconsin Gov. Scott Walker (R) telling supporters that “Thomas Jefferson said it best” when the Founding Father said, “That government is best which governs least.”

In reality, Thomas Jefferson never said or wrote this. As with Paul, someone made up a quote, conservatives ran with it, and Walker ended up falling for it. (In an amusing coincidence, Rand Paul has repeated this bogus quote, too.)

Comments
  1. So hilarious that Amazona calls Rusty a “pissy little thing.” Keep up the good work, Rusty.

  2. casper says:

    Conservatives can’t help themselves when it comes to making shit up and repeating it. Mark does it every single most. And yes, Ama is projecting again. It’s what she does.

  3. rustybrown2014 says:

    Thanks guys, and thanks Jake. Yeah, it’s a trip. I’m trying to remain civil and topical, but Ama and Cluster just seem to want to swim in the muck. It’s clear their only response to losing a debate is to cry “foul” and spin fantasies about how I’m being disruptive and nasty. The projection from these people is INCREDIBLE. I’ve never seen anything like it. Ama in particular is a piece of work, isn’t she? I kind of feel sorry for her, and I CERTAINLY feel sorry for anybody who has to deal with her on a personal basis.

    Mark has been quite engaging so far. I’m trying to respond in kind, but when he just rejects government and CDC numbers with no basis for doing so it’s hard to keep your cool.

  4. it is amazing. They hate things for the sake of hating things not because of fact. Three examples more birth controls even though it will reduce abortions. 2nd thing minimum wage. Why are they so upset by it? It is getting people more off food stamps. The one thing they do not understand is that Walmart tried to hire less people in their stores(i sell to walmart). It was a disaster and there sales plummeted if you check their annual meeting. Nobody was watching the products and it just became a disaster overall. The third thing is hybrid movement/electric car movement versus fossil fuel. They will laugh at it at any chance they have. I just read the book Elon Musk: tesla, spacex and solar city. Incredible read by the way. He is a big Obama supporter but he is making projects that are for the better of society such as Tesla, Solar city and spaceX. tesla to get out of dependence on foreign oil. It really shows how society should work besides Uber people who just want to make money. Nothing wrong with it but i will not go on my communist rant.

    Why are conservatives upset with these technologies that are improving society. It boggles my mind. AMazona is a fucking idiot. She couldn’t pass a philosophy class or a college class if she wanted to. She is so brainwashed and so dumb nobody would take her seriously. I am not even a big democrat or Liberal so it is kind of funny. Everyone read the Musk book.

  5. rustybrown2014 says:

    Well, we knew it wouldn’t last–I’ve been banned from bfv, at least for now. It was Ama,of course. Jesus, what a fucked up individual. Here’s what led to my downfall. After trying to engage her civilly she sparked off a torrent of abuse while trying to accuse me of doing the same (her rant still remains on the site). I tried to stay on subject but found those posts unceremoniously deleted. The last post of mine (among others) that she deleted was actually a response to Spook, who was asking me if I was feeling OK by being so polite. I responded by saying I’m not such a bad guy when you get to know me and referring him to my recent exchange with Ama on that very thread (which is still there I believe, for the moment) and asking him to judge “now who is being the asshole here?” Ama knows it’s her and deleted the whole exchange. What’s even weirder, in her last post she made it seem like she was waiting for an answer from me AFTER she had deleted relevant posts of mine and banned me from posting further.

    Sheesh! Sure has been weird. But fun. I’ve had a bit of time on my hands lately and was glad they let me post there. At least Mark and Cluster have the decency to just cut off dialog when they know it’s not going so well for them. That’s fine, I’m not going to hound them or mock them for it–you lose interest in a topic or feel your point is withering you move on. Not Ama! She knows I’ve kicked her motherfuckin’ ass in every exchange we’ve ever had and can take no more. Her massive, deluded ego will not countenance it. Hers is a strange pathology I’ve never encountered in the real world, nor would ever want to.

  6. rustybrown2014 says:

    I think Ama might fit the profile of someone who tortures small animals in their spare time.

    • It’s the way it always goes over there. As you mentioned, you respond in kind. They start the name-calling, you respond in kind, they delete your posts and ban you. Cluster must be proud.

      • rustybrown2014 says:

        I just find it hilarious that they’re STILL posting to me, getting their final idiotic thoughts in and posing questions to me they know I can’t answer because I’ve been censored! What kind of people do that? I guess they’re trying to tidy things up and make it seem like they’ve won the arguments. I just don’t know how people can behave that way and maintain any kind of self respect. Cognitive dissonance I suppose.

  7. i just wonder who the hell has that much time to write a novel for every freakin post. Nobody actually reads all of her crap I do not trust anyone who cannot get their point across in two sentences or a short paragraph. Nobody has that much time on their hands or cares that much. Also i still think their is a paradox in conservatives and it would be an interesting discussion for them. Why do they not believe things that will ultimately help their cause. They will just say it wont work but here are three examples.

    1. Free birth control will reduce the amount of abortions. The iud is great(except my wife gained ten pounds on it and had to work hard to work it off another discussion)

    2. Electric cars or hybirds taking over vs gas gussling cars that we depend on Middle East. They will counter drill baby drill but that is just dumb. example giving money to failing public schools or giving more money to iraq.

    3. Raising the minimum wage vs more food stamps. It will not reduce jobs because people need to fill the stores such as walmart. It was known to be a disaster when Walmar tried to reduce their staff bc of obama care. Almost put them out of business it was so horrid.

    There are probably million of these

Leave a Reply

