Yup. He won second place in the Nevada caucus last night. Which is like winning first place in Rubio-land. He said on the TV this morning that he feels “good about our second-place finish.” Congratulations!

Meanwhile, in the real world, Trump won again. The inevitability of his nomination is beginning to seem, well, inevitable. But a glimmer of hope for sane Americans can be found in the 1992 presidential campaign, where Bill Clinton lost the first four primaries, and nine of the first ten. Bob Dole lost four out of the first five on the Republican side in 1996. So I guess Rubio isn’t out of this thing entirely.

How about Ted Cruz? Hard to see a path for him.

John Kasich today: “Of course I’m staying in. Why would I drop out when I’ve got the best chance to be the nominee outside of Trump?” Memo to John: You’re gonna need to win at some point. Or at least come in second so that you can claim you won.

And we can’t forget Ben Carson, another card carrying member of the deep bench. Apparently he’s finally come to the realization that his campaign is nothing but a scam. “We had people who didn’t really seem to understand finances,” a laughing Carson told CNN’s Poppy Harlow on “CNN Newsroom,” adding, “or maybe they did—maybe they were doing it on purpose.”

And lastly: Whomever is the Democratic nominee had better not take Trump lightly, assuming he is the Republican nominee. Paul Waldman outlines Trump’s potential strengths in the general election.

Comments
  1. rustybrown2014 says:

    Trump will be the nominee, and that’s terribly good news. To be honest, there are things I’m beginning to like about Trump. He’s not nearly as conservative as he pretends to be for the tard base–just watch him morph back into the social liberal he’s always been when he has to compete for normal people’s votes. He’s an unashamed white male, and that’s refreshing in this climate of white-guilting and social warmongering. It’s also hugely refreshing just to have an unscripted human being running for president, something I’ve never witnessed in my lifetime. Hillary seems like a cyborg next to him. Having an outsider win the White House would really shake up our system and I think that would be a net positive in the long run. I think Trump is basically a moderate independent who figured out that you can’t win as an independent so he figured (correctly) that he could dupe mouth-breathing Republicans easier than he could fool Democrats.

    All that said, I think Hillary will still trounce him in the general. But I’m really seeing this as a win/win. The important thing is we don’t see a Cruz or Carson picking the next supreme court and it looks like we’re going to avoid that nightmare.

    Also, I’m loving the wailing and gnashing of teeth going on over at b4v. It’s only February, and they’ve already lost! Couldn’t happen to a nicer gang of chumps!

    • I hear what you’re saying. It’s similar to the Matt Yglesias article I linked to the other day.

      Trump, Cruz and Rubio are all pretty despicable people, in my mind. I also agree that Trump is more moderate than Cruz or Rubio, who are true believers. I think “armstrong” over at B4V basically has it right. A lot of conservatives hear in Trump things that are in their self interests. And I get that there’s entertainment value in an unscripted human being running for president, but I still find Trump to be ugly. I’d definitely take Hillary over Trump, despite her faults. But won’t it be fun to see Republicans have to cow tow to Trump’s agenda at the convention, etc.?

      • rustybrown2014 says:

        Yes, that will be sweet. More popcorn please! And you’re right, there’s plenty of ugly to Trump.

  2. You guys should research Trump’s sister who is a judge and very liberal. If he nominates her to the supreme court the progressive are in very good shape. There is no way some of the SC justices are going to survive 4 or 8 more years. The problem is trump is will he get us into a stupid war with a country and the tariff on Chinese good will destroy businesses. When Trump said he wanted a Tariff on goods in China i just thought all the box stores and my business were pissing their pants. We do have some labor in US but that is a big problem. Also the anti-immigration is very scary

  3. rustybrown2014 says:

    Oh my. The first example of you shutting out a dissenting opinion. Watershed!

    • So you feel that in a thread of over 80 comments, more than half of which were yours, you were unable to express your opinion? Get a grip.

      • rustybrown2014 says:

        No, I didn’t say that at all. I said you were shutting down dissenting opinion, which you have every right to do on your own blog.

      • rustybrown2014 says:

        But, since you mention it, yes, I was unable to express my opinion (my last response to yours) because you didn’t allow it. As I said, your rules.

  4. rustybrown2014 says:

    Breaking news: Trump attempt to hold peaceful rally in Chicago thwarted by violent protestors against free speech. #freespeechbutonlyproperspeech

Leave a Reply

